AACC uses cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

POCT Professional Certification Board

The AACC Point-of-Care Testing (POCT) Professional Certification Board oversees the certification process for individuals who apply to receive AACC’s Certified Point-of-Care Testing Professional (CPP) designation. This certification program is designed for all personnel who perform diagnostic tests outside the central laboratory, including near-patient testing, point-of-care device selection and validation, quality management, operator training, regulatory compliance, and liaison with the central laboratory. Those who receive the designation CPP will demonstrate to patients and healthcare colleagues and institutions that they have proven expertise in this field.

Call for Nominations

Deadline: June 25, 2022

The POCT Professional Certification Board is seeking nominations for POCT experts to serve on the Board starting September 1, 2022. Self-nominations are welcome. Learn more about the open Board positions here.

Submit a nomination

Board Officers

Elia Mears, MT(ASCP) (President)
Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations

Vinita Thakur, PhD, FAACC (President-Elect)
Clinical Biochemistry Division Chief, Point-of-Care Testing Scientific Lead
Health Science Center, Eastern Health

T. Scott Isbell, PhD, DABCC (Past-President)
Medical Director of Clinical Chemistry
Saint Louis University

Elizabeth L. Frank, PhD, DABCC (Secretary)
Professor of Pathology
University of Utah

Matthew Feldhammer, PhD, DABCC, NRCC (Chair, Credentials Committee)
Assistant Professor, Medical Director of Chemistry, Toxicology, and Point-of-Care
University of Florida

Richard Lambert, MS, MT(ASCP), CPP
Point-of-Care Testing Manager
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Christa Williams, MLS(ASCP)CM, CPP
Point-of-Care Testing Specialist
University of Maryland

Rita Khoury, MD, DABCC, FAACC, CPP (Chair, Examinations Committee)
Lab Director
Aculabs, Inc.

Marcia Zucker, PhD, MT(ASCP)

Jane Tansiongco, MT(ASCP), CPP
Point-of-Care Testing Coordinator
Pali Momi Medical Center

Shana Gaug, CLS, MLS(ASCP), CPP
Point-of-Care Testing Coordinator
Kapiolani Medical Center

Adonica Wilson, MT(ASCP) (Chair, Nominating Committee)
Point of Care Coordinator
A. I. DuPont Hospital for Children

Kimberly Skala, MS, MT(ASCP)
Clinical Applications Manager, Critical Care Division
Instrumentation Laboratory

Charlotte Bismark, MT(ASCP), CPP
Point-of-Care Testing Coordinator
St. George Regional Hospital, Intermountain Healthcare

Other Program Contributors

The AACC Board of Certification would also like to acknowledge the point-of-care testing experts on the Certification Program Task Force who developed the Point-of-Care Testing Professional Certification program, as well as the additional point-of-care testing experts throughout North America who collaborated to develop the certification exam.