AACC uses Cookies to ensure the best website experience. Continuing without changing Cookie settings assumes you consent to our use of cookies on this device. You can change these settings at any time, but that may impair functionality on our websites. Review our cookie and privacy policy

AACC Academy Award for Outstanding Contributions to Clinical Chemistry in a Selected Area of Research

This award recognizes especially meritorious research contributions by an individual in a specific area of clinical chemistry. The clinical chemists who have received this award have achieved national and international status for their pioneering efforts in an area of research considered fundamental to the science and have been considered among the world’s foremost experts in that specific discipline.

Congratulations to This Year's Winner!

Khosrow AdeliKhosrow Adeli, PhD, DABCC, FAACC

Dr. Adeli is division head of clinical biochemistry at the Hospital for Sick Children, vice-chair of laboratory medicine at the University of Toronto, and a senior scientist in molecular medicine at the Research Institute in Toronto, Canada. He has made many original and significant contributions to the field of pediatric reference intervals. He is the principal investigator of the CALIPER (Canadian Laboratory Initiative in Pediatric Reference Intervals) Project, which has had a global impact by closing the evidence gap in pediatric reference intervals for biochemical markers. His basic and clinical laboratory research has led to the publication of more than 500 articles and abstracts. Dr. Adeli has made extensive national and international contributions over the past 30 years to clinical laboratory service and education. He served as president of the Commission on Accreditation in Clinical Chemistry, on the board of directors of the AACC Academy, as chair of the board of directors of the Canadian Academy of Clinical Biochemistry, and as chair of the scientific committee of the annual meeting of the Canadian Society of Clinical Chemists (CSCC). He is the editor-in-chief of Critical Reviews in Clinical Laboratory Sciences and was formerly the editor-in-chief of Clinical Biochemistry. Dr. Adeli has received several service and research awards, including an award for outstanding contributions to the AACC Pediatric-Maternal-Fetal Division; several AACC outstanding speaker awards; and CSCC awards for innovation in laboratory medicine, outstanding contributions to the profession of clinical chemistry, and outstanding contributions to the profession of clinical biochemistry.

Previous Winners

2018 - Allan Jaffe, MD
2017 - Jerry Katzmann, PhD
2016 - Martin Fleisher, PhD
2015 - Daniel W. Chan, PhD
2014 - Mario Plebani, MD
2013 - Gregory J. Tsongalis, PhD
2012 - Yuk-Ming Dennis Lo, MD
2011 - Peter C. Nowell
2010 - Robin A. Felder, PhD
2009 - Fred S. Apple, PhD
2008 - Marilyn A. Huestis, PhD
2007 - Michael J. Bennett, PhD
2006 - Hugo Katus, MD
2005 - David B. Sacks, MD
2004 - Carl Wittwer, PhD
2003 - Ishwarlal Jialal, PhD
2002 - Jack H. Ladenson, PhD
2001 - James L. Wittliff, MD, PhD
2000 - Alfred H. Free, PhD
1999 - Eleftherios P. Diamandis, MD, PhD
1998 - Larry Kricka, PhD
1997 - Edwin F. Ullman, PhD
1996 - James C. Sternberg, PhD
1995 - John Albers, PhD
1994 - Ronald J. Elin, PhD
1993 - Kary B. Mullis
1992 - Walter Dandliker
1991 - Arthur Karmen, MD
1990 - Larry D. Bowers, PhD
1989 - Leland Charles Clark Jr, PhD
1989 - John W. Severinghaus, MD
1989 - Richard W. Stow, PhD
1988 - Herbert K. Naito, PhD
1987 - David E. Bruns, MD
1986 - Helen K. Berry
1985 - Peter Jatlow, MD
1984 - Robert B. McComb, PhD
1983 - Basil T. Doumas, PhD
1982 - Charles E. Pippenger, PhD
1981 - J. Stanton King, PhD
1980 - Charles D. Scott, PhD
1979 - Robert Schaffer, PhD
1978 - Harry L. Pardue, PhD
1977 - Theodore Peters, PhD
1976 - Nathan O. Kaplan, PhD
1975 - Rosalyn S. Yalow, PhD
1974 - Lena Armstrong Lewis, PhD
1973 - George N. Bowers, MD